Leading You Beyond Your Potential

Seek and You Will Find

So I was playing a great game of golf…for 3 holes anyway. LOL. Then the inevitable happened. I took out my not so trusty 5 iron for a long approach shot from the middle of the fairway (center of the course) and … “come back, come back, come back!”, is what I said, but the ball didn’t listen. Nope. It decided to go  waaaaaay right. So naturally I had to go look for it. It was a new pinnacle gold golf ball, and the money spent on it insisted that I go look for it. Here is where the short lesson came in.

As pictured, my ball fell in tall grass, known as rough. I was standing a foot from it, but couldn’t see it because it was so deeply buried. This caused me to comb through this rough area of grass searching for the lost ball. While searching for it, I found 3 other balls that were also lying in rough areas. My next shot by the way was almost perfect…even though I had to hit it from the rough 🙂

Lesson 1. Listen to Correction.
When someone yells come back and you decided to go your own way, there’s a chance you could get lost. See, most people only want to hear about blessings, and how great they are doing. But everyone needs someone to correct them when they are wrong. Everyone, like David, needs a Nathan to come and say, “Hey you are going the wrong way! Come Back!” When that person arises in your life, do not assume they are trying to hold you down, they may be God sent to help you reach the proper destination for your life.


Lesson 2. Seeking Reveals More than you bargained for

So as I was searching for 1 lost ball, I found 3 more. This was a short moment of encouragement for the evangelist in me. It was a confirmation that we must seek for those that are lost. In doing so, not only do we fulfill our purpose, but we save the one who is lost and potentially reach others that somehow and some other moment found themselves in same situation. Every 1 person you reach out for is connected to someone else. So lets go into the hedges and highways, homes and streets and find the lost.

Lesson 3. It cost but it is worth it
So usually I use old recycled balls. When I loose them, I don’t even look for them. They don’t cost much, so I don’t waist time exploring for them. However, this ball cost me a little more, and so it begged to be found. When we understand the investments that God has made in us, and others it behooves us spend a little to recoup it. Spend a little time, little money, little energy holding on to it. It may be person, or your spiritual gift. Whichever you have seemingly lost, it is worth spending a little to get a lot.  Read the Jim Elliott Quote above for more on this spending.

Lesson 4. You can get out.
So I as I stated, I had to play that ball from the rough. I had to hit it, even though it was seemingly buried…and I did. I took out a wedge, and swung, and…and…and…perfect! It landed 1 foot from the hole. It was a “good out”. This means that even though it was lying in a bad place, I hit a good shot. Isn’t that just like God. Able to make all things (even bad ones) workout for your good. Do not give up because you have hit a rough place. Just know that God gives “GOOD OUTS”

Leave a comment